News & events

The Boltzmann Medal for 2016 will be awarded to Daan Frenkel and Yves Pomeau.

people 26/05/2016

The Boltzmann Award was instituted by the Commission on Statistical Physics of the IUPAP to honor outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. It is presented by the Commission at the STATPHYS meeting and is awared in 2016 to Daan Frenkel and Yves Pomeau. The ceremony will take place in Lyon on July 20th.

The citation for Daan Frenkel (Cambridge node of NANOTRANS) reads: "for his seminal contributions to the Statistical Mechanics understanding of the kinetics, self-assembly and phase behaviour of complex macro-molecular, colloidal and biomolecular systems through highly innovative simulation methodologies."