News & events pag. 2

Cohen Lectures of the Northwestern University to Daan Frenkel

people 16/10/2017

The Department of Materials Science & Engineering will be hosting the Jerome B. Cohen Distinguished Lecture presented by Daan Frenkel 1968 Professor of Theoretical Chemistry, University of Cambridge.



Transport of soft matter at the nanoscale

training 26/06/2017

The NANOTRANS school «Transport of soft matter at the nanoscale» will take place Schloss Waldthausen near Mainz, Germany from June 26 to 30, 2017. Training will include courses on hydrodynamics, nanofluidics, electrokinetic phenomena, polymers, biomedical applications... as well as an experimental tutorial at the Johannes Gutenberg University. It will also offer the students a good opportunity for networking and exchange. This NANOTRANS event will also be open to a larger audience as a joint event with CECAM and TRR146 (see for more details).


  • Benjamin Rotenberg (CNRS and University Pierre and Marie Curie, Paris, France)
  • Jure Dobnikar (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Marialore Sulpizi (Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany)

15 PHD positions in Nanotrans Training Network

training 10/03/2017

NANOTRANS (Transport of Soft Matter at the Nanoscale) is a new Horizon 2020 Marie Skłodowska-Curie European Training Network, involving ten universities and research organizations, as well as two industrial companies across Europe. The scientific objective of NANOTRANS is to obtain a fundamental understanding of the transport of fluids and colloids at the nanoscale. We will use multiscale modelling approaches and state of the art experimental techniques to address a broad range of topics in nanofluidics, phoretic flow, electrokinetics, liquid crystal and polymer flow.

Fifteen "Early Stage Researcher" (ESR) positions are available, spread across all academic and industrial partners, covering experimental, theoretical and computational approaches to this problem. An ESR position is a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellowship for postgraduate research and usually includes studies towards a doctoral degree (PhD). NANOTRANS provides an excellent opportunity for scientific and personal development, with regular training courses at different locations throughout Europe including academic and industrial topics, and the chance to meet and discuss problems with leading scientists in the field including several international visiting scientists.

These are prestigious and highly competitive positions. We are looking for motivated students with a solid background in science. Successful candidates will be recruited under full employment contracts with salaries according to the Marie Skłodowska-Curie salary scale – between 42.000 € and 55.000 € p.a., depending on the country and personal circumstances. In order to be eligible to apply, the candidates should be within first 4 years of their research career and should not have resided in the country of employment for more than 12 months in the last 3 years. We value diversity and are committed to equality of opportunity. For further information on European Training Networks see

The partner institutions with scientists in charge and indicative areas of study are:

University of Cambridge: Daan Frenkel, Tuomas Knowles, Ulrich Keyser, Jure Dobnikar

  • Modeling phoretic effects; Control of molecular transport by electric fields & mechanical force;

University of Oxford: Susan Perkin

  • Shear of ionic nano-films between graphene sheets

University Pierre and Marie Curie and CNRS, Paris: Marie Jardat, Benjamin Rotenberg

  • Electro-acoustics in nanocolloidal suspensions and nanopores

University Paris-Sud and CNRS: Emmanuel Trizac

  • Dynamical aspect of ionic correlations in electrolyte suspensions

Ecole Normale Supérieure and CNRS, Paris: Lyderic Bocquet

  • Transport of water through single nanotubes

Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz: Marialore Sulpizi, Friederike Schmid

  • Water interfaces under shear flow from ab initio molecular dynamics simulations

Free University Berlin: Roland Netz

  • Multiscale modelling of electrokinetics in nanoconfinement

Forschungszentrum Jülich: Gerhard Gompper, Roland Winkler

  • Transport of semiflexible polymers through structured nanochannels

University of Vienna: Christos N. Likos

  • Transport of ring polymers in microfluidic channels

University of Barcelona: Ignacio Pagonabarraga, Francesc Sagues

  • Transport and self-assembly of binary and active mixtures under confinement


  • Novel techniques for electrokinetic measurements in colloidal suspensions

UNILEVER, Vlaardingen and Port Sunlight: Krassimir P. Velikov, Patrick Warren

  • Molecular transport in particle based colloidal gels

A comprehensive description of each project and instructions on how to apply can be found at

For general enquiries, please contact:

Jure Dobnikar ( or Benjamin Rotenberg (

NANOTRANS Berlin Meeting, Berlin

training 27/02/2017

ESRs and PIs met at the Freie Universität of Berlin on February 27th - March 3rd. The Berlin annual meeting and the following training module marked a first successful step toward the NANOTRANS mission.

2017 Sir Eric Rideal Lecture of the SCI/RSC to Daan Frenkel

people 20/02/2017

The Sir Eric Rideal Lecture honours an individual who has made a sustained and distinguished contribution to colloid and interface science in the UK and a one-day scientific meeting is organised around the winner. This year’s one-day symposium will feature six invited lectures by colleagues and former group members and will conclude with Professor Daan Frenkel, the award recipient, presenting the Rideal lecture.

Susan Perkin was awarded the 2016 Philip Leverhulme Prize

people 27/10/2016

The Philip Leverhulme Prize is awarded by the Leverhulme Trust to recognise the achievement of outstanding researchers whose work has already attracted international recognition and whose future career is exceptionally promising.



Daan Frenkel Elected Honorary Fellow of Trinity College Cambridge

people 30/06/2016

Daan Frenkel was elected honorary fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge. This is fellowship is given to members of Trinity College who have attained high distinction in academic or public life.



The Boltzmann Medal for 2016 will be awarded to Daan Frenkel and Yves Pomeau.

people 26/05/2016

The Boltzmann Award was instituted by the Commission on Statistical Physics of the IUPAP to honor outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. It is presented by the Commission at the STATPHYS meeting and is awared in 2016 to Daan Frenkel and Yves Pomeau. The ceremony will take place in Lyon on July 20th.

The citation for Daan Frenkel (Cambridge node of NANOTRANS) reads: "for his seminal contributions to the Statistical Mechanics understanding of the kinetics, self-assembly and phase behaviour of complex macro-molecular, colloidal and biomolecular systems through highly innovative simulation methodologies."


Madhavi Krishnan received the Nernst-Haber-Bodenstein Prize 2016

people 26/05/2016

Madhavi Krishnan, NANOTRANS associate partner from the University of Zürich, received the Nernst-Haber-Bodenstein Prize 2016.

This prize of the German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry is awarded to a young physical chemist under 40 in memory of Max Bodenstein, Fritz Haber and Walther Nernst.


Daan Frenkel elected to National Academy of Sciences

people 24/05/2016

The National Academy of Sciences announced on May 3. the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Professor Daan Frenkel, from the Cambridge node of NANOTRANS, has been elected as a foreign members.